Universidade Portucalense – Infante D. Henrique

Universidade Portucalense Infante D. Henrique is a cooperative higher education and scientific research establishment

Vice-Rectors, Departmental Directors and Research Unit Directors take office

On 21st October, the Vice-Rectors, Departmental Directors and Research Unit Directors took office. They assumed their functions last February, when they were nominated by the Board of Directors.

The Rectory, headed by Fernando Ramos, is composed of António Ferrão Filipe, Vice-Rector for Teaching, and Jorge Leite, Vice-Rector for Research. The Departments are headed by: Mariana Correia (Director of the Department of Architecture and Multimedia Gallaecia), Paulo Morais (Director of the Department of Science and Technology), Manuela Magalhães (Director of the Department of Law), Alexandra Araújo (Director of the Department of Psychology and Education), Shital Jayantilal (Director of the Department of Economics and Management) and Isabel Freitas (Director of the Department of Tourism, Heritage and Culture).

In the sphere of Research, Mariana Correia took on the direction of the CIG – Gallaecia Research Centre, Jorge Leite the INPP – Instituto de Desenvolvimento Humano Portucalense, Wladimir Brito the IJP – Instituto Jurídico Portucalense and Luís Pacheco the REMIT – Research on Economics, Management and Information Technologies.

At the inauguration ceremony, which took place in the Sala de Atos, the Chairman of the Board of Directors, Armando Jorge Carvalho, emphasized “the great responsibility” of the functions, “expecting a cohesive and committed team”.

He exhorted the importance of “applying the essential characteristics for those who lead: dedication, availability, loyalty, collaboration, spirit of mutual help and exemplary attitude”. 

He reinforced the idea that it is fundamental to understand the present moment as “a new cycle that involves new challenges” and presupposes “maintaining and improving the growth and development that Portucalense University has achieved in recent years”. 

He concluded, reaffirming his confidence in the elected representatives: “I believe that with a small effort of all, we will make the University even stronger”.


Vice-Rectors, Departmental Directors and Research Unit Directors take office
Scroll to top